Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

City of Crete Nebraska


City Government


Ajax Loading Image


City Government

Crete, NE.

Crete is a First-Class city with a Mayor-City Council form of government with the mayor and six council members who are all elected to four-year terms. There are three council wards, each represented by two members. The 2021-2022 actual expenditures were $28,282,145.  The current municipal levy is 0.360714 (2023). The actual valuation of the City of Crete is $415,808,242 (2023).

In addition to the 5.5% Nebraska sales tax, a 2% city sales tax is imposed in Crete. The revenue generated by 1% of the city sales tax is used entirely for property tax relief; 0.5% is dedicated to economic development; the final 0.5% is dedicated to capital construction and public safety.

Regular city council meetings are held the first and third Tuesdays of each month at City Hall; council members sit on six standing committees. There are 11 citizen advisory boards appointed by the mayor and approved by the council.

Crete, Nebraska will be a destination for family living, business development and a variety of activities.

The City of Crete, Nebraska strives to provide the municipal services required for a safe and peaceful "Community in Motion" in which to live, work and play.


Mayor Dave Bauer

City Code

Crete City Council

Comprehensive Plan

City Hall & Officials

Boards & Commissions



city of crete logo