Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

City of Crete Nebraska


News Updates


Ajax Loading Image


Elected officials take oath of office

Officials elected on Nov. 8, 2022 take the oath of office read by City Clerk Jerry Wilcox (right) at the Dec. 6, regular Crete City Council meeting. From left: Mayor Dave Bauer, and Council Members, Dan Papik in Ward 1, Tom Crisman in Ward 2, and Kyle Frans in Ward 3.

Mayor Dave Bauer won his election bid against challenger Ryan Hinz, who finished one term as City Council Member in Ward II. Dan Papik and Kyle Frans were elected in Council Wards 1 and 3, respectively, after running unopposed. 

No candidates filed for the Ward 2 council seat by the March deadline, meaning no names appeared on the ballot. Former mayor and council member Tom Crisman registered a write-in affidavit by the later deadline of Oct. 28 and campaigned as a write-in candidate for the Ward 2 council seat.

Officials elected on Nov. 8 took the oath of office at the Dec. 6 regular City Council meeting at City Hall.

(See full General Election results from Saline County.)

Bauer has served as mayor since July 2019, finishing out the mayoral term that ended in 2022. Bauer had served as a council member in Ward 1 since 1998.

Frans and Papik were both appointed to fill council vacancies in 2019 and 2021, respectively, finishing terms that also ended in 2022.

Crisman was elected to the Council from Ward 2 in 2004 and served two years before running for mayor in 2006. He served one term as mayor until 2010.

The offices of City of Crete mayor and city council members are four-year terms. The terms for mayor and one city council member from each ward are up each mid-term election year while the terms for the three additional council members, one from each ward, are up each presidential election year.

The process to fill elected official vacancies occurring in situations other than the end of a term of office is provided for by state statute and city ordinance.