Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

City of Crete Nebraska


News Updates


Ajax Loading Image


Crete Youth in Governance team recognizes city staff

City of Crete staff with two members of the Crete Youth in Governance Team after recognition at the Dec. 3 city council meeting.

The Crete Youth in Governance team recognized a number of City of Crete staff and first responders at the regular council meeting on Tuesday for their response during March flooding.

When rising river levels impacted streets, neighborhoods, and public areas, including city infrastructure, staff implemented an emergency reposes plan involving Public Works crews, the Crete Police Department, Crete Volunteer Fire Department and City Hall staff.

The Big Blue River at Crete hit a historic high of 30.68 feet on March 15 closing several streets and intersections in the southwest and northwest portions of Crete. Tuxedo Park was closed to all traffic when water levels impacted the main entrance park roads, and utility services to the park. The river level fell below flood stage (21 feet) on March 20.

Crete Youth in Governance is a program of Nebraska Extension which focuses on developing leadership and life skills in Crete youth. The goal of the team is “to help youth work in partnership with adults to improve their own lives and the community in which they live.”

Those recognized each received a 'Nebraska Strong' water bottle and letter:

Crete Police Department - Chief Steve Hensel, Sgt. Ron Koch, Sgt. Chad Menagh, Officer Brian Stork, Officer Drew Smith, Officer Audrey Arbuckle, Officer Brandon Howland, Officer Colin Gaman, Officer Lincoln Morehouse, Officer Sally Tyma

Crete Fire Department - Chief Tod Allen, Assistant Chief James Yost, Rescue 1st Lt. Terry Petracek, Fire Captain Matt Bakker, Fire 1st Lieutenant Harrison Gaman, Brad Elder

Parks and Recreation Director Dan Dunaway, Building Inspector Brad Bailey, Electric Department Superintendent Brian Schmidt, Utilities Office - Diann Nettifee and Telisha Slama, Street Department - Supervisor Trenton Griffin, Lyle Calkins, Alfredo Navas, and Dillon Aksamit, Water Department - Superintendent Brandon Koll, Lee Krasser and John Wiruth.

Mayor Dave Bauer and City Administrator Tom Ourada were also recognized for their work with the youth team over the years.